Emer Casey Memorial 10k

Catherine and I went along to the second Emer Casey Memorial 10k in Youghal this weekend.

Emer was a colleague, and fellow trainee solicitor, of Catherine’s in Matheson, Ormsby, Prentice until she tragically died from ovarian/uterine cancer 2 years ago. The Emer Casey Foundation website talks about how much Emer is missed, and the size of this event just goes to show much that is true.

I can only guess how many runners and walkers participated on Sunday, but I’d guess somewhere around 500 people. It looks like the foundation will be able to channel lots more much needed funds into researching the early diagnosis of this form of cancer. Last year they managed to raise an amazing €160,000.

Many congrats to all the folks involved in organising the event and thanks to the people of Youghal for the very warm welcome. I know I’ve never been to a race before where I got a cup of tea, tasty sandwiches, some cake and a hot shower afterwards.


Youghal Lighthouse – taken by huggs2

I found the route of the run itself fairly unusual. After the first k or so, it went fairly steeply downhill for at least a couple more k with the rest of the race consisting of an out and back along the windy seafront. So, a long downhill, lots of flat and no significant uphill.

I would have loved that except a bad case of shin splints had me reduced to a slow jog on the downhill. Once I hit the flat, though, I pushed myself harder than usual and finished in reasonable 48 minutes.

The surprise of the day was my wee little wifey, who had been aiming to finish in 60 minutes, crossed the line in a brilliant 54 minutes!

Leave a Reply

